Kick him when he’s down!

Sheesh. I went to training today with a fresh, positive outlook.

Jiu jitsu is a game and I was ready to play it more enthusiastically than anyone.

Had a good warmup. There are a few coloured belts there so sensei decides to stage a mini tournament, as practice. I’m paired up with a purple belt.

We square off and I shoot in, get the single leg and the takedown. Two points. There is some scrambling and stuff,  I stand up, and his spider guard is too good for me so I decide to sit down sharpish before I lose my balance.

Wham, I land weirdly on my foot, crushing it under my weight. Something goes pocky.

I hold on for the rest of the fight, wondering whether to quit and see to my throbbing foot, but decide to grit it out, Japanese-spirit stylee. I lose 11 points to 5 then crawl to the corner to inspect the damage… not good. Foot is buggered. Swollen, with a dark blotch on it. I can’t put any weight on it at all.

Training is a half an hour cycle from my house. I had to come back on the bike which was probably not a good idea either.

So now I’m nursing a mangled foot and a severely dampened spirit! When it happened there was a cloud so black it was almost visible over me. I was seriously pissed off. I really don’t need this at the moment.

Still, I managed to snap myself out of the funk and now I’m just hoping it’s not too serious and after a night of icing and shippuing this inteeeeeense pain will have subsided.

Shit burgers.

4 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear that. I hope you get better soon. Your posts are always very interesting and I really enjoy your blog.

  2. looks like this happened about a year from your last leg injury post, too. may’s not your month. 😦

  3. Yeah… kinda spooky. Last year I busted my leg, then entered the comp at the Kasuya Dome and won…

    This year same time, I have busted my leg and I want to enter the comp at the Kasuya Dome in 6 months… coincidence? *strokes moustache…

    Luca, thanks!

  4. Arse wangs. That totally sucks man! I hope your foots gets betters yes?
    There seems to be a spate of injuries going around…

Leave a Reply

