One year ago…

I was competing in last year’s Copa South. I looked at these old videos, and I feel that I have come a long way.

In the first fight, I could feel that I was much stronger than my opponent but lacked the confidence and maybe the finishing skill to go for the finish. I should have submitted him much earlier.

In the second fight I got completely overwhelmed by a very solid Hawaiian guy. I made a big mistake by putting my arm under his leg without attempting to pass, basically giving him the triangle on a plate.

Let’s hope I get a better run at it this year in the blue belt category…

2 Responses

  1. I’m too embarrassed to share videos of my fights with anyone.
    I watched the vids from my tournament the other week, and while I was totally stoked to have won, I am fucking mortified beyond words about how shite I look on camera – slow, passive and lacking in aggression.

    At least they’ve showed me what I need to work on.
    And that I’m balder than I thought. Fuck.

  2. Ha! Yeah, I was a little hesitant to show these, but fuck it. Showing them doesn’t change a thing about your skill, if anything, it’s motivation to improve!

    My nose is bigger and more hook-shaped than I thought. Shit.

Leave a Reply

