Training, early Feb.

jiu jitsu training

Things are going good. I think the combination of getting over my cold, keeping up my rudimentary strength training routine, and twice a week BJJ / once a week judo is really starting to pay off.

The last few times I’ve been to training have been “good days” where everything just slots in place. I feel that I’m at a good level already, and I still have a month until the comp. I hope I can crank it up further before the comp. I always hear the coaches in the MMA interviews talking about how they ensure their fighters peak at the right time before the fight. Well I’m going to try to do that for myself.

The plan is to keep doing what I’m doing now, which has given me big improvements, and add to that at least one hardcore jiu jitsu session per week. These are the late night classes where you get pushed really, really bloody hard.

I’m able to push and attack for the whole six minutes at the moment. I want to be able to go harder though so I will make sure that I am working all the time during class. No slacking off!

I’m able to finish people at the moment, too, which is good. Sometimes my subs don’t work for me, especially against some people, but lately they are working pretty good. So I hope I can keep this up for another month, and then I’ll be ready for the comp.

Leave a Reply

