Judo 17 Jan

A good training session. I’m starting not to feel like a three legged hunchback during uchi-komi (drills) now, which is nice. I still can’t remember the names of anything to save my life.

I drill the foot in sweepy thing, the hooking foot sweepy thing, the foot out sweepy thing, and the turning around and squatting down thing.

Randori is going OK. I managed to pull off a nice footsweep, but it was against a waif of a fourteen year old girl. Still, there is hope.

Had a karate kid-style moment where I threw the instructor with the foot in sweepy thing. He said “That was great. What were you doing differently?” and I, not realising I was stumbling into a scene from a cheesy 80’s martial arts flick, said “I wasn’t thinking about throwing you, only relaxing and doing the move properly.” “Bingo!” Then he said something about Okinawa and belts, but I wasn’t really listening.

Anyway, the important thing for judo is just to get some randori experience so that I am not so stiff standing up in the BJJ comps. Anything else is a bonus.

2 Responses

  1. “I wasn’t thinking about throwing you, only relaxing and doing the move properly.”

    Nice one.

    Yes, it does sound cheesy, but the more often that happens, the better you get.

  2. Thanks for stopping by! Those kind of moments happen infrequently, but hopefully will happen more and more as I continue to train.

Leave a Reply

