Hunt Vs. Fedor… I predict a riot, I predict a riot!

So, it’s NYE. Hunt vs. Fedor. Champion vs. Challenger. Big, ur, Russian Guy vs. Big, um, New Zealander with Samoan heritage currently living in Australia. Yay!

I’m going to go on record (take note, three loyal readers!) and say that Hunt will beat Fedor on NYE.

(Escape clause-if I am wrong, Fedor will submit Hunt early.)

The reasons?

Thanks, I’m glad you asked, cheese-brains.

1) Hunt is a tough mother-humper with rocks in his head.
2) Fedor is enjoying his time at the top, and wants to stretch his legs a bit. After fighting Mark Coleman, he said he wanted to make the fight last a bit longer, to feel his (Coleman’s) technique, and practice his own. I am not sure what Fedor’s gameplan will be for the fight against Hunt, but if he decides to try a similar thing and “carry” Hunt for a round or two (no small feat… or feet…) then he is playing a very dangerous game.

The pressure is there for him to do so… it’s the main event, he is the champ, and he is looking to up his stock to make himself a better commodity for future contract signings. Perhaps he feels some pressure to show a “fight” rather than storming out, flopping Hunt on his arse and armbarring his face off (which I strongly believe Fedor could do if he wanted.)

So Fedor has a choice. 1) Go out and totally dominate. He did that against Zulu last year, which was great, but didn’t give fans what they wanted (more of Fedor) or 2) Try to carry Hunt for at least a round.

Option 1=Safe, entirely possible
Option 2=Risky, and something that someone who has been undefeated for years might just try and pull.

And if anyone has a puncher’s chance, it’s Hunt. Fujita punched Fedor and made him do the fish dance. I think Hunt would turn Fedor into a fish if he connects with one of his hams… A dead fish! /melodrama

Either way, I am sure this will be a great fight and I hope Fedor decides to test himself with some standup before de-grapplerising Hunt’s brains out.

8 Responses

  1. Hey to be honest I dont know much about Hunt, I have heard of him and seen some clips but that seems like a bold statemebt that he will beat Fedor? He is so dominant and powerful and just daedly I cant see him being beaten!!!!! Whats the story with this Hunt guy. I could go to Fightfinder on Sherdog but Id rather a personal opinion on him.

  2. Hey to be honest I dont know much about Hunt, I have heard of him and seen some clips but that seems like a bold statement that he will beat Fedor? He is so dominant and powerful and just deadly I cant see him being beaten!!!!! Whats the story with this Hunt guy. I could go to Fightfinder on Sherdog but Id rather a personal opinion on him.

  3. whoops sorrow posted twice. Its early and Im just into work, brain is not really turned on yet!

  4. Hunt is a giant Samoan, whose skull is made out of titanium and his brain
    is made out of concrete and hard cheese. His deadliest weapons are his giant smashy paws, and the fact that other fighters hurt their hands when they smash them off his lead-filled chin bone. He’s had wins over Cro-cop and Vanderlai Silva in Pride. Unfortunately, he doesn’t seem to have much of
    a ground-game, Josh Barnett only took 4.003 seconds to de-armbaralise him.
    Hence mmabjjs’s excellent analysis – if Fedor decides to stand with Hunt, he’ll damage his robotic hand attachments, but if he goes to the ground, he’ll win in 2.00015 seconds.

  5. I don’t know MMABJJ Fedor is famous to get his shit together pretty fast (being slam on his head by Randleman and still manage to gain position and win), Hunt’s hulk smash technique can get him in a dangerous spot if he’s not carefull, but Fedor will win this one too

  6. Yes, well I am just being controversial 😉

    Hunt has more than Hulk Smash technique… his hands are quick and accurate. Mind you, Fedor’s loose, relaxed style totally bamboozled Cro Cop’s crisp striking. But Hunt is looser than Cro Cop, so it will be interesting.

    Looking forward to it.

  7. As impressive as fedor has been, I’m going with hunt on this one. i don’t think this will go to the ground as fast as expected, and standing up. hunt is almost impossible to hurt. I dont see fedor standing up the whole distance with hunt and winning. and hunt is pretty accurate and quick enough to land shots. I think both fighters will land shots, but hunt’s will carry more impact. I don’t expect hunt to throw a lot of kicks because the threat of takedown, which if it does happen early in a round, hunt will be in a lot of trouble. Hunt undoubtedly knows his weakness is on the ground so I’d imagine he’s improved his takedown defense. I don’t think Fedor will try to take this to the ground immediately which will prove to be a mistake. i predict hunt ko late in the first round.

  8. Well! What a great fight. Hunt was a lot better than I thought he’d be on the ground.

Leave a Reply

